New Year, New Classes

It’s a new year, with lots of new, exciting happenings. I’ll be teaching two new classes, which I’m very excited about; the first is an exercise and stretching class with my seniors at Hale House, and the second is a much more active yoga class on Tuesdays at Fitcorp at 125 Summer Street. The Northeastern classes will be starting up again, as well, which pretty much makes January an awesome, yoga-filled month! My full schedule is here; Fitcorp members will want to remember to sign up for classes the day-of as there’s a bit of a rush this time of year.

Also, my family and I are starting something new this year. We’ve declared Wednesday Learning Night… Last week I learned a bunch of Pilates moves so I could sub a Pilates class on Thursday morning. My abs were really sore, and I’m loving my new core exercises. I thought I’d share my favorite one with you to kick-start your week:

Lie on your left side. Cross your right ankle over your left and glue your legs together. Keep them straight through the entire exercise. Now tilt your hips back so your left buttock is on the ground and your hips face diagonally upwards. Lift both legs up as high as possible, then lower all the way down and roll onto your left hip again. Do as many as you can on each side. I dare you. And proceed to enjoy the awesome awareness of your obliques for the rest of the day. :)

Happy new year!

~ by Carmen Celeste Thurston on January 8, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
