Miracles

I’m reading the quote from Albert Einstein today and thinking, today, everything is kind of a miracle for me.

I graduated from Northeastern on Friday. The ceremony was long and impersonal, and the idea of graduating has been holding very mixed emotions for me; I’ve been wanting for a long (long) time to be done with school, and at the same time it’s the end of something really big for me. And it means that today is my first day being able to do yoga and share yoga without feeling pulled away by school and homework and professors and a crazy hectic schedule. And that is miraculous.

I taught my early morning class, swung by SBY for their self-practice, and then came home to a small vegan quesadilla (filled with sweet potato, spinach, tomato, asparagus, and Daaiya ‘cheese’), large salad with homemade dressing, and a glass of carrot-ginger juice. This afternoon I catch up on all the stuff I’ve been needing to do, this evening I teach again, and then I come home to a delicious dinner. The fact that I have time for my own yoga practice today, time to sit down and e-mail friends and write this post, time to make my own lunch (well, ok, the quesadilla was leftovers from Mother’s Day dinner last night) – these are all miracles – and not even little daily miracles being seen in the small stuff, they each feel like huge, fantastic miracles. As much as I’ve been looking forward to this day, this finally finally free of school feeling, it’s also been terrifying. So it feels great to start out through these wide open doors in such a fantastic way.

Congratulations, class of 2011. It feels good to be part of the miracle today.

~ by Carmen Celeste Thurston on May 9, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
