Inspiring; Danna Faulds

The Fruits of Practice: From Going In and In: Poems from the Heart of Yoga

Despite fervent pleas for ease

and safety, there are many days

when reality doesn’t quite line

up with what I’d choose.

Breakdown. Letting go.

Surrendering even the illusion

of control. Breathing into the

unknown – sometimes that is

what life holds.

Practice hasn’t brought an end

to pain. I still increase my

suffering like a fish caught on

a line. My struggles only draw

the hook in deeper. But being

in reality is its own reward.

It’s the perfect paradox; the

courage to stand and breathe

when everything in me wants

to flee is as great a gift as the

freedom to seek retreat.

No, practice hasn’t brought

an end to pain but it has honed

my willingness to experience

the moment and sometimes see

perfection unfolding in ways

I wasn’t big enough to plan,

much less predict.

Practice isn’t about achieving

a goal. It’s not a means to pole-

vault over suffering. Practice

is my way of looking life in

the face and saying yes to all

its disparate gifts. Practice

keeps me awake when I would

sleep, and reminds me it’s

the journey, unfolding in this

very moment, it’s the journey

that reveals the truth, and

not the destination.

~ by Carmen Celeste Thurston on April 11, 2011.

2 Responses to “Inspiring; Danna Faulds”

  1. I couldn’t find a general comments section so I figured I’d just leave it here: great class on Sunday- turned out to be an excellent program. First time doing Yoga and I really enjoyed myself- I may even sign up for some summer classes.

    • Thanks Reid! I had a blast on Sunday, and I’m glad you liked it, too. I’ll also be teaching another free class on Tuesday, April 26 from 7:00-8:00 (during finals week) and I’d love to see you there – and, of course, in the summer classes!

Leave a Reply

 
